Goal Permissions

Avatar
by Sydney Phelon
Follow

What are permissions?

Permissions determine whether or not you will be able to edit or view an Objective/Goal. 

Openness and transparency promote communication and fluid information sharing, but not all departments can share their Goals publicly. For example, legal and financial departments may have confidential data related to their Goals that should not be shared with people outside of their team.

Goal permissions allow the user to assign roles to other people, Teams, or Departments who may be touching their Goal. 

The available roles are:

  • Owner: This role is in charge of a Goal. Goal completion is tracked in their betterworks account and counts toward their overall progress.
  • Editor: This role can make any changes to a Goal the owner can make, but Goal completion is not tracked in their account.
  • Participant (private Goals only): This role can contribute milestones to a private Goal, as well as view some Goal information and any downstream Goals contributing to the private Goal.
  • Super Admins: Can view and edit private goals. Check Admin Capabilities here.

A person who can contribute can:

  1. Align their Goal/Objective to that of another Goal/Objective
  2. Add Key Results to that Goal/Objective
  3. Convert Key Results of that Goal/Objective to become their own Goal/Objective

Managing Permissions on Public Goals

When a Goal is created, by default the Owner's manager will be added as an editor. If a Goal is created then reassigned, the new assignee will be the Owner. Sometimes, users need help to maintain a Goal. This Goal may be owned by a single person, but a larger group of people or a team may be heavily involved in it. When a Goal is assigned to a Department, all departments below (child, grandchild, etc) will be added as default editors. 

  1. From the Goal list page, click on the "..." addition actions button on the Goal select Quick Edit.
  2. Scroll down in the pop-out window, expand Permissions Settings, and select Permission Settings.

    Screen_Shot_2019-04-22_at_2.28.54_PM.png
  3. Click the Change button alongside Roles.
  4. Enter the names of team members or groups who should be able to view, edit, or own this Goal, and click Add.
  5. Optionally, click the blue role next to any person's or group's name to change their permission settings.

    Editors have the same powers and privileges as owners; they can do anything from editing the Goal’s name to scoring the Goal.

    Screen_Shot_2019-04-22_at_2.29.10_PM.png
  6. When permissions are set, click Save.

Creating a Private Goal

Users can create private Goals by changing Permission settings. From either Goal create or the Quick Edit view.

Screen_Shot_2019-04-22_at_2.30.28_PM.png

Screen_Shot_2019-04-22_at_2.28.39_PM.png

Screen_Shot_2019-08-15_at_12.17.03_PM.png

A user's manager is added as an editor by default to all Goals, public and private. 

When a manager change happens, the private goals only keep their original manager as the Editor so the goal owner has to update the permission settings of the goal to add the new manager manually.

Unlike public Goals, private Goals have nuanced permissions. These permissions make it easy to share private Goals with a team or department, allowing collaboration without exposing vulnerable data.

Public Goals have “owners” and “editors,” but a private Goal can also have a “participant.”

Participants can view the Goal, the milestones contributing progress, and most of the Goal’s basic data. They can also view any of the Goals downstream that contribute to their Goal. Participants are free to contribute milestones of their own, but they cannot edit or delete the Goal.

 

Managing Permissions on Contributing Goals

Permissions follow the “waterfall” design that is common across most modern platforms. This means that any permissions coming from “upstream” will be inherited “downstream.”

If a user is an editor of the top company bookings Goal, she will also be an editor for any downstream Goals (in this example, the user could be a sales manager, and the downstream Goals could be three direct reports' territory revenue Goals). Likewise, a user creating a new public Goal will have his manager included as an editor on that Goal by default. 

FAQ

Can I set any Goal to private?

No. If a Goal contributes to a public Goal, it cannot be made private. Top Company Goals cannot be made private, either. 

How do I view a list of users with access rights to my Goal?

On the Goal detail page, click Actions [...] > Quit Edit > Permission Settings > Permission Settings. The Visibility and Permissions window opens. Use this list to view, add, or remove users from the access list.

How do I know if a Goal has restricted access?

Goals with restricted access have a lock icon next to the Goal name. If you do not have access to view a Goal, you will not be able to see any information about the Goal and need to request access.   

How do I remove editors from a Goal?

Remove editors by clicking on the trash can next to the respective editor’s name. If an editor can’t be removed from a Goal, the trash can is replaced by a lock icon.

The user’s manager will be added as an editor by default on public Goals. If the user’s Goal is connected upwards to other Goals, the editors on those Goals will also be able to edit the user’s Goal. If the Goal creator becomes an editor, they can be removed from the Goal just like any other editor.